VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 05-23-2017, 08:57 AM
Tankerpilot75 Tankerpilot75 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 431
Default D10A backup battery questions

I've had my RV7A for two years. I bought it from the original builder who finished it in 2008. To my knowledge the backup battery on the Dynon D10A has never been replaced. It still seems to work fine.

Questions
1. How often should these batteries be replaced?
2. Is this something I can do myself or does it need to be sent back to the factory?
3. If I can do it myself does anyone have information on how to do it?
4. If it must be returned to Dynon does anyone know approximately how much this cost?
__________________
Jim Harris, RV7A, 2nd owner, N523RM
IO-360, Hartzel CS prop, Older Aerotronics built panel Dual GRT Horizon WS, GRT EIS, Garmin 340, 335, Dual 430s, TruTrak 385 A/P with auto level, FlightBox hard wired to WS, Dynon D10A with internal battery (backup EFIS), 406 MHz ELT.
Retired - Living the dream - And going broke!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-23-2017, 09:27 AM
cajunwings cajunwings is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: new iberia la
Posts: 630
Default D10 Battery

Not sure of the recommended replacement schedule, but changing it is easy. Mine had cover plate held on by 2 Allen head screws on the back of the can. It has a 9 volt battery style connector and battery just slides right out.

Don Broussard
RV9 Rebuild in Progress
57 Pacer
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-23-2017, 09:11 PM
dynonsupport's Avatar
dynonsupport dynonsupport is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 1,495
Default

Replacement is on condition. Charge the battery, then run it for at least an hour. If it lasts an hour or more, it's still fine.

If you do end up wanting to replace it, you can replace it in the field with instructions in our install manual.
__________________
_______________________
Dynon Avionics
support@dynonavionics.com
425-402-0433
www.DynonAvionics.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-24-2017, 05:30 AM
snopercod's Avatar
snopercod snopercod is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 1,838
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dynonsupport View Post
...you can replace it in the field with instructions in our install manual.
For those of us without the backup battery, can we install one in the field as well?
__________________
(2019 dues paid)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-24-2017, 05:51 AM
Jesse's Avatar
Jesse Jesse is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: X35 - Ocala, FL
Posts: 3,673
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snopercod View Post
For those of us without the backup battery, can we install one in the field as well?
Yes you can. There is a little plate on the back that open up to reveal the battery compartment. You slide the battery in, plug in the connector, then put he cover plate back on. Easy peasy.
__________________
Jesse Saint (Saint Aviation, Inc. - VAF Advertiser)
352-427-0285
jesse@saintaviation.com
RV Hotel (hangar, room, car) at X35 in north FL

Commercial ASEL/S A&P/IA EAA Technical Counselor

Dynamic Prop Balancing, Prebuy Inspections, Condition Inspections, Repairs and Mods, Injector Tuning, Airframe, Engine, Panel Upgrades, Ferrying, etc.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:57 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.