VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 04-25-2017, 08:24 AM
Planecrazy232's Avatar
Planecrazy232 Planecrazy232 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 267
Default Amplifying Audio outputs

My D100 and TruTrak audio outputs are very weak. I do not have an audio panel. I have the audio outputs tied into the input of a PM1000 intercom along with the radio output into the intercom. I could put resistors on the radio output to bring that level down, but I don't think the Dynon and autopilot will still be loud enough. Is there a small amplifier that can be installed between the intercom and my audio outputs?
__________________
Thanks,

Anthony

RV6-A "Aluminum Mistress"
Too many hobbies- not enough time.
2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 donor and happy to do it.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-25-2017, 08:40 AM
RVbySDI's Avatar
RVbySDI RVbySDI is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Tuttle, Oklahoma
Posts: 2,542
Default

Instead of spending money on an amplifier you might consider upgrading your intercom to a PM3000. It would have the input connections you would need. It has the same footprint as the PM1000. I don't know for sure but my guess would be your existing harness would need only just a wire or two changed for your inputs. I would think by the time you spend money on an amplifier you would have the same amount in the PM3000.

Just my .02.
__________________
RVBYSDI
Steve
RV9A
https://rvwings.com

Live Long And Prosper! 🖖🏻
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-25-2017, 10:10 AM
Brian Vickers Brian Vickers is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bainbridge Island, WA
Posts: 328
Default Sub-D DB-25 reversed, and wiring order different

I have the same problem and got excited about Steve's solution, but I believe the two units are set up opposite. The PM3000 has the pins (male) on the unit (intercom) side, and the PM1000II has the pins on the D-sub plug side (wiring harness). The instruction manual for the PM3000 says, "Sub-D DB-25 Male on unit." The PM1000II says, "Sub-D DB-25 Female (Sockets) on unit. The wiring order is also completely different. Check it out - PDF installation instructions on the PS Engineering website.

Still a worthy solution to the problem because I noticed several units on Ebay starting at $170.
__________________
Brian Vickers
Bainbridge Island, WA
RV4
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-25-2017, 10:26 AM
RVbySDI's Avatar
RVbySDI RVbySDI is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Tuttle, Oklahoma
Posts: 2,542
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Vickers View Post
I have the same problem and got excited about Steve's solution, but I believe the two units are set up opposite. The PM3000 has the pins (male) on the unit (intercom) side, and the PM1000II has the pins on the D-sub plug side (wiring harness). The instruction manual for the PM3000 says, "Sub-D DB-25 Male on unit." The PM1000II says, "Sub-D DB-25 Female (Sockets) on unit. The wiring order is also completely different. Check it out - PDF installation instructions on the PS Engineering website.

Still a worthy solution to the problem because I noticed several units on Ebay starting at $170.
even if the harness does not match up it would still not be a difficult task of detaching the wiring from the old D-sub connector and inserting into the appropriate location on the PM3000 D-sub connector. Wiring of these is not complicated at all. The hardest part is being able to see those little tiny numbers on the connector to know you have inserted into the correct hole. I still think it the better option. Good luck.
__________________
RVBYSDI
Steve
RV9A
https://rvwings.com

Live Long And Prosper! 🖖🏻
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-25-2017, 10:46 AM
Champ's Avatar
Champ Champ is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Kingsville, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 243
Default

I had the same issue getting AOA audio out of my D10A and alarms out of my D10 since I also have a PM1000II with only one aux input - used this for a music jack. I added a MakerPlane 10 channel audio mixer AMX-2A under the panel, located so I could get at the volume pots easily. $120 +-. This also saved a bunch of panel space. Info available on line. Vern Little (MakerPlane principal/designer) is a VAFer. I forget his call sign.
__________________
Dennis Enns
Kingsville, ON
Bellanca Champ 7ACA since 1986, restored 1990.
RV-8 IO375, Hartzell CS, dual PMags.
2019 Donation In
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-25-2017, 11:07 AM
dynonsupport's Avatar
dynonsupport dynonsupport is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 1,495
Default

It isn't that the Dynon (or likely TruTrak) are quiet and need amplification, it's that you can't just hook audio output wires together and have them mix. One of them wants the voltage to be 0V and the other wants it to be 5V, and they fight one another. The stronger one wins. Sounds like the strong one is your radio.

What you need is a mixer that combines signals. One option here is the VX aviation mixer for about $120:

http://store.makerplane.org/10-chann...r-mono-amx-2a/

If you want to play around, a resistor on the radio might actually work OK, but it would require some playing around with the values.
__________________
_______________________
Dynon Avionics
support@dynonavionics.com
425-402-0433
www.DynonAvionics.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-25-2017, 11:11 AM
Planecrazy232's Avatar
Planecrazy232 Planecrazy232 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 267
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Vickers View Post
I have the same problem and got excited about Steve's solution, but I believe the two units are set up opposite. The PM3000 has the pins (male) on the unit (intercom) side, and the PM1000II has the pins on the D-sub plug side (wiring harness). The instruction manual for the PM3000 says, "Sub-D DB-25 Male on unit." The PM1000II says, "Sub-D DB-25 Female (Sockets) on unit. The wiring order is also completely different. Check it out - PDF installation instructions on the PS Engineering website.

Still a worthy solution to the problem because I noticed several units on Ebay starting at $170.
Also be careful which model PM3000 you choose. The 170.00 versions are not correct as the do not have the unswitched audio inputs. The models 11931A or 11933A are the correct versions.
__________________
Thanks,

Anthony

RV6-A "Aluminum Mistress"
Too many hobbies- not enough time.
2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 donor and happy to do it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-25-2017, 11:16 AM
Planecrazy232's Avatar
Planecrazy232 Planecrazy232 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 267
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dynonsupport View Post
It isn't that the Dynon (or likely TruTrak) are quiet and need amplification, it's that you can't just hook audio output wires together and have them mix. One of them wants the voltage to be 0V and the other wants it to be 5V, and they fight one another. The stronger one wins. Sounds like the strong one is your radio.

What you need is a mixer that combines signals. One option here is the VX aviation mixer for about $120:

http://store.makerplane.org/10-chann...r-mono-amx-2a/

If you want to play around, a resistor on the radio might actually work OK, but it would require some playing around with the values.
I thought about resistors on the radio side, but the volume on the D100 is so low to start with that once the engine is running I can't hear the tone even with the radio off. Does the device above raise the level?
__________________
Thanks,

Anthony

RV6-A "Aluminum Mistress"
Too many hobbies- not enough time.
2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 donor and happy to do it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-25-2017, 12:25 PM
dynonsupport's Avatar
dynonsupport dynonsupport is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 1,495
Default

Anthony,
The D100 is quiet because your radio is smashing it down. When you hook multiple audio sources together, the strongest one wins, and when the strongest one wants there to be no sound, all others get very quiet because they have to fight that one.

The resistor makes the radio "weaker" which means all other sources will get louder while the radio gets quieter. It's not perfect, but it might work.

The mixers do not specifically amplify, but they mix signals without allowing one to block the others. The D10A's output is specifically meant to be quite loud and in most installs a volume control is needed to turn it down.

You can prove the D10A can be loud easily- Disconnect the radio and the TruTrak and run the test sound on the D10A and it should be very loud. You might be able to do this just by having the TruTrak and radio powered off. This will show you how loud it would be if you didn't have the connections paralleled.
__________________
_______________________
Dynon Avionics
support@dynonavionics.com
425-402-0433
www.DynonAvionics.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-25-2017, 12:29 PM
alpinelakespilot2000 alpinelakespilot2000 is online now
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3,558
Default

Another possible course: does your radio have auxiliary inputs? My Icom A210 does. If so, you can keep one going through the intercom and route the other directly to the radio, that way they don't compete with each other, and can probably then be controlled volume-wise independently. Good luck.
__________________
Steve M.
Ellensburg WA
RV-9 Flying, 0-320, Catto

Donation reminder: Jan. 2020
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:11 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.