What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Plastic Brake Lines - Need Experienced Advice

XOverZero

Well Known Member
OK, Builders...here's a question for you: In assembling the brass terminal fittings to the plastic brake lines, is it an acceptable option to use a heat gun (carefully) to soften the plastic slightly instead of a pan of boiling water? Ref: 27-04.
I do not have the luxury of building at home, and am not at all keen on the idea of having to obtain and use a camp stove or the like in the hangar. Has anyone else done it differently and successfully?

You can use a heat gun if you are VERY careful not to over heat.
All you need to do is soften them slightly. As a matter of fact, try it first without heat. You may not need it.

And before all the nay-sayers check in, I've been flying my -6 with the plastics lines for over 21 years with no problems.

In RVator 2-2009 page 11 there is an article about the brake lines.
Instead of using boiled water you can use a #29 drill bit to "shave" the brake tubing.
I used a 3,5mm drill bit instead of the #29 drill. For some inserts I still had to use the boiling water method but it worked quite well.

IN THE SHOP
PLASTIC BRAKE LINES
KEN SCOTT
Van’s RV-12

– a workable method found, then improved
A few grumbles surfaced lately when builders tried to install fittings on the plastic tubing used to connect the master cylinders on dual brake sys- tems. These fittings rely on a compression sleeve around the outside and a small tubular insert stuffed into the end of the tube. The difficulty has been getting the insert into the tube, even when the plastic tube is softened in boiling water.