What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

A Model vs Taildragger

JoeM

I have been reading a lot of posts recently about damaging nose gears and flipovers with poor landing technique. It seems it takes as much skill for either conventional gear or a nosewheel aircraft. As I am a very new student pilot I would like to hear the pro's and con's of both. For me I would love to have a taildragger just because I think they look better.

I would consider getting my PPL and build a -7. I can only wish that Vans would offer a quicker building -9 (pulled rivets?) or a taildragger -12. There is also the Zodiac or Sonex but that's a different discussion.

To be honest, if you're in a hurry to fly, then building an RV isn't the best choice for you anyway, either mentally or financially. Used RV's are much cheaper than building new right now. And you won't be constantly frustrated that you have to keep building when you really want to be flying. If you can afford to finance a kit over the few years it'll take to build it, then you can afford to finance a (smaller) loan to buy a completed plane now.

Re: Tailwheel vs. Nosewheel, I suggest you do a search of the forums for other threads expounding the pros and cons. There are many. What it comes down to is, once you're off the ground, the plane flies the same. I don't find the RV's to be challenging taildraggers to handle on the ground. The -A models have better ground visibility, but some people have trouble with them flipping on their back for reasons that I don't think are fully understood yet.

Pros and cons

It does not seem that anyone has actually answered your question. Simply put you need to adopt the same procedure for both nosewheel and taildraggers, that is get the nose up when putting it on the ground.