VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics


Go Back   VAF Forums > Main > RV General Discussion/News
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-19-2019, 10:09 PM
roadrunner20's Avatar
roadrunner20 roadrunner20 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bay Pines, FL (based @ KCLW)
Posts: 1,906
Default Surefly magcheck issue on EIS4000

I've just replaced one slick mag for a Surefly EI. On magcheck, I'm gettng a zero reading for the EI. I'm currently using dual 27k resistors on my magcheck switch.
Before I start replacing that resistor, I thought I'd check to see if anyone else has solved this.
__________________
Danny "RoadRunner" Landry
Morphed RV7(formally 7A), N20DL, PnP Pilot
1135+ hours
2019 Donation Paid
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-19-2019, 10:32 PM
Robin8er Robin8er is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Socal
Posts: 323
Default

How does your tach work? I have the same issue with my lightspeed ignition. Mine measured RPM off the electronic ignition, so when I turn it off the rpm drops to zero.
__________________
RV-8 N695RA flying
Working on an RV-4

Born to fly, forced to work
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-19-2019, 10:39 PM
roadrunner20's Avatar
roadrunner20 roadrunner20 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bay Pines, FL (based @ KCLW)
Posts: 1,906
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robin8er View Post
How does your tach work? I have the same issue with my lightspeed ignition. Mine measured RPM off the electronic ignition, so when I turn it off the rpm drops to zero.
I have separate wires running from each p-lead with a 27k resistor to a toggle switch. This enables me to get individual readings sent to the EIS. When switched to the EI, it's now reading zero. Surefly suggests a 18k resistor or less. If someone has done this, it will prevent me from swapping one out until I get the proper one.
__________________
Danny "RoadRunner" Landry
Morphed RV7(formally 7A), N20DL, PnP Pilot
1135+ hours
2019 Donation Paid
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-19-2019, 10:55 PM
lr172 lr172 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 4,145
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roadrunner20 View Post
I've just replaced one slick mag for a Surefly EI. On magcheck, I'm gettng a zero reading for the EI. I'm currently using dual 27k resistors on my magcheck switch.
Before I start replacing that resistor, I thought I'd check to see if anyone else has solved this.
Your EIS needs a large resistor to safely catch a pulse off the the coil of the mag. However, most any EI will send a nice 12 volt square wave tach signal and therefore no resistor should be used between it and the EIS. I would guess that the surefly provides a traditional tach signal (12 volt pulse) and a 30K resistor will make it unreadable for the EIS. There simply won't be enough current left for the EIS to pick it up. However, being a certified replacement, it is possible that they are trying to emulate a traditional mag signal, though I doubt it.

Larry
__________________
N64LR
RV-6A / IO-320, Flying as of 8/2015
RV-10 in progress

Last edited by lr172 : 08-20-2019 at 06:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-20-2019, 06:40 AM
Skid's Avatar
Skid Skid is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Walworth, WI
Posts: 146
Default EIS

I also have a Lightspeed ignition on one side and a mag on the other. I have a resistor on the mag but not one on the Lightspeed. I had a switch like Dan to allow either ignition to display on the EIS on my EFIS.

I upgraded to the remote EIS R66 last year. The remote EIS allows me to configure all the settings in my GRT EFIS and has two tach inputs so it no longer requires a switch. My understanding is the newer EIS 4000 also has two tach inputs.
__________________
Skid
RV-6A
IO-360 B1B
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-20-2019, 06:56 AM
lr172 lr172 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 4,145
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skid View Post
I also have a Lightspeed ignition on one side and a mag on the other. I have a resistor on the mag but not one on the Lightspeed. I had a switch like Dan to allow either ignition to display on the EIS on my EFIS.

I upgraded to the remote EIS R66 last year. The remote EIS allows me to configure all the settings in my GRT EFIS and has two tach inputs so it no longer requires a switch. My understanding is the newer EIS 4000 also has two tach inputs.
That's interesting. My EIS 4000 had two tach inputs. Didn't realize there was an older version with only one.

Larry
__________________
N64LR
RV-6A / IO-320, Flying as of 8/2015
RV-10 in progress
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-20-2019, 07:09 AM
roadrunner20's Avatar
roadrunner20 roadrunner20 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bay Pines, FL (based @ KCLW)
Posts: 1,906
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lr172 View Post
That's interesting. My EIS 4000 had two tach inputs. Didn't realize there was an older version with only one.

Larry
Yes. I spoke with GRT & they stated the newer models DO have 2 inputs.
Mine is a 2005 model, which at that time, only provided a single input.
__________________
Danny "RoadRunner" Landry
Morphed RV7(formally 7A), N20DL, PnP Pilot
1135+ hours
2019 Donation Paid
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-20-2019, 07:11 AM
Skid's Avatar
Skid Skid is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Walworth, WI
Posts: 146
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lr172 View Post
That's interesting. My EIS 4000 had two tach inputs. Didn't realize there was an older version with only one.

Larry
There was, mine was circa 2003.
__________________
Skid
RV-6A
IO-360 B1B
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-20-2019, 07:16 AM
roadrunner20's Avatar
roadrunner20 roadrunner20 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bay Pines, FL (based @ KCLW)
Posts: 1,906
Default

Looks like my first attempt will be to bypass the resistor completely.
Thanks for the info.

I'll update this this thread & inform GRT & Surefly, so they can update their docs.
__________________
Danny "RoadRunner" Landry
Morphed RV7(formally 7A), N20DL, PnP Pilot
1135+ hours
2019 Donation Paid
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-20-2019, 07:35 AM
Canadian_JOY Canadian_JOY is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,072
Default

The better alternative would be to purchase the magnetic sensor that screws into the vent plug hole in the magneto body. This sensor uses the spinning magneto gear teeth to provide an output to the EIS. The beauty of this sensor is that it provides that RPM signal even when the P-lead is grounded.

The sensor I use is from Advanced Flight Systems. I know other vendors also supply similar sensors. Dead-easy to install and doesn't have anything to do with the very noisy P-lead signal - no resistors, nada. Power, ground and signal, that's it.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:04 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.