VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #11  
Old 07-29-2019, 01:46 PM
BobTurner BobTurner is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 5,977
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Saville View Post
Are there still requirements that your tail number be 1 foot high?
I believe yes, but only if you cross an ADIZ. Most of the US-Canada airport is not a defense zone.
Bill, what does the FCC want for a station license and operator permit? Last time I looked, I thought it was expensive.

Last edited by BobTurner : 07-30-2019 at 12:59 PM. Reason: FCC, not FAA
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-29-2019, 02:08 PM
lndwarrior lndwarrior is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Cloverdale CA
Posts: 235
Default Alcohol

Don't know if this is still relevant.

10 years ago I make my first (and only) flight into Canada. Land at Abbotsford. They do not have customs on site.

Get a female customs agent on the cell phone while parked at a designated area on the ramp. She is pissed at me because I am almost 2 hours late on my arrival time (my misunderstanding).

After threatening to "open a folder on me", the conversation turns.

"What is your reason for visiting us?", she asks.

"I'm here to visit my sister, " says I.

"Are you bringing any alcohol into Canada?", she asks.

"Yes, two bottles of wine," says I.

"You can't do that," she says.

Oh ****, I'm on the tarmac, can't get out of the plane until she releases me and have no idea what to do now.

"You said you're visiting your sister?" she asks.

"Yes," says I.

"Well, if the bottles of wine were a gift for your sister, that would be ok," she says.

Me: "Uhhhh."

She: "So are the bottles of wine a gift for your sister?" she asks.

Me: "Yes, they are a gift for my sister."

She: "Welcome to Canada. I hope you enjoy your stay!"

True story.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-29-2019, 09:10 PM
RandyAB RandyAB is offline
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: St Albert, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 430
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maniago View Post
I just came back from Alberta on a bushliving course. Theres really no airstrips out there but alot of arrow straight dirt Range Roads. I'd like to go back and take the plane....can I land on a range road (after clearing customs etc at a real airport)???
No. Landing on a public road would be illegal unless it was an emergency.
__________________
______________________
Randy P.
1st time builder
RV10 - QB wings and fuse. Working on cabin top
St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
Reserved:C-GRPY
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-29-2019, 10:40 PM
Jermechanic's Avatar
Jermechanic Jermechanic is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 102
Default Thats ok if you land in Wiley Yukon

Quote:
Originally Posted by maniago View Post
I just came back from Alberta on a bushliving course. Theres really no airstrips out there but alot of arrow straight dirt Range Roads. I'd like to go back and take the plane....can I land on a range road (after clearing customs etc at a real airport)???
You can land perfectly legally on the road if you make it to mile 244 on the Dempster Highway in the Yukon

http://www.explorenorth.com/library/...ins-wiley.html
__________________
Jeremy Prpich
C-GJZI RV6 Slider
Home base CYYJ- Victoria Int'l
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-30-2019, 08:30 AM
Snowflake's Avatar
Snowflake Snowflake is online now
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 3,518
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyAB View Post
No. Landing on a public road would be illegal unless it was an emergency.
Wrong. You can land on any surface in Canada provided you don't p*ss anyone off.
__________________
Rob Prior
1996 RV-6 "Tweety" C-FRBP (formerly N196RV)
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-30-2019, 09:23 AM
maniago's Avatar
maniago maniago is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Bowie MD
Posts: 875
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowflake View Post
Wrong. You can land on any surface in Canada provided you don't p*ss anyone off.
So what I'm hearing is, its ok if 1) noone sees you doing it 2) you dont crash.

With phone cameras everywhere, probably would never get past 1)......
__________________
Mani
MustangII (FoldingWing) "Finishing up": IO360B1E,RSA,C2YR-BF/F7666-2,Superior sump,James; 2xHXr,MiniX,EIS,480,327,240,SL30,Navworx; SteamAlt,AS,VSI,wet compass
Don't be a hater; I'm a cousin with thin wings!
N251Y (res)
Jan2019
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-30-2019, 10:55 AM
RandyAB RandyAB is offline
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: St Albert, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 430
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowflake View Post
Wrong. You can land on any surface in Canada provided you don't p*ss anyone off.
I had a look at the CARS for clarification. It seems that landing on anything other than a designated aerodrome is only prohibited if over a built up area. I guess you are correct. Good on ya. I still think it would be a bad idea generally.
__________________
______________________
Randy P.
1st time builder
RV10 - QB wings and fuse. Working on cabin top
St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
Reserved:C-GRPY
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-30-2019, 12:29 PM
az_gila's Avatar
az_gila az_gila is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 57AZ - NW Tucson area
Posts: 9,920
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyAB View Post
I had a look at the CARS for clarification. It seems that landing on anything other than a designated aerodrome is only prohibited if over a built up area. I guess you are correct. Good on ya. I still think it would be a bad idea generally.
Check your insurance policy....
__________________
Gil Alexander
EAA Technical Counselor, Airframe Mechanic
Half completed RV-10 QB purchased
RV-6A N61GX - finally flying
Grumman Tiger N12GA - flying
La Cholla Airpark (57AZ) Tucson AZ
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-30-2019, 12:33 PM
Bavafa Bavafa is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 2,991
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobTurner View Post
I believe yes, but only if you cross an ADIZ. Most of the US-Canada airport is not a defense zone.
Bill, what does the FAA want for a station license and operator permit? Last time I looked, I thought it was expensive.
Bob,
The process seems really easy and fast. The cost is $70 which is for the lift time.
__________________
Mehrdad
N825SM RV7A - IO360M1B - SOLD
N825MS RV14A - IO390 - Flying
Dues paid
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-30-2019, 01:05 PM
BobTurner BobTurner is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 5,977
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bavafa View Post
Bob,
The process seems really easy and fast. The cost is $70 which is for the lift time.
I think thatís correct - for the operator permit. But the FCC also requires a Ďstationí license, for the airplane (international only). I think thatís another $170.

Iím old enough to still have an fcc operator license. Itís a piece of cardboard that I filled out and sent to the fcc back in the early Ď80ís. They stamped it and sent it back. Doesn't seem to be $70 worth of work to me...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:38 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.