What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

New RV-3 project

Status
Not open for further replies.
I just bought an older RV3 project it has dents in one of the ailerons as well as one elevator. Normally do you replace these pieces (can it be replaced?) or do you attempt to repair.
It has no alternator and I plan to add electrical to it. Does Vans sell plans for this? Or is this just planned and executed by the builder.
The plane came with no plans and little documentation so I have lots to figure out on my own.
I am new to experimental aircraft but I am very excited about this project. I am sure I will have many more questions for you guys.
Thank you in advance.
Richard

I just bought an older RV3 project it has dents in one of the ailerons as well as one elevator. Normally do you replace these pieces (can it be replaced?) or do you attempt to repair.
It has no alternator and I plan to add electrical to it. Does Vans sell plans for this? Or is this just planned and executed by the builder.
The plane came with no plans and little documentation so I have lots to figure out on my own.
I am new to experimental aircraft but I am very excited about this project. I am sure I will have many more questions for you guys.
Thank you in advance.
Richard

There is little in plans for firewall forward for the RV-3....back when the kit came out, it was assumed that builders would just figure that stuff out. If you didn't get any plans, you definitely should get a set from the factory, just so you know a lot more about your plane.