What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

avionics repair shop for experimental aircraft is there a need

joe1968

Well Known Member
Considering opening up a avionics and instrument repair shop would the experimental community be receptive

Yes and no. Most of the avionics manufactures require that their product(s) go back to the factory for repair and charge a FLAT fee. Would you be able to provide the same service at a lower charge?

Yes, I have several years of repair experience in a faa certified shop and woulD be able to offer repairs at better rates and quality repairs

One has to wonder how many of the modern avionics can even be repaired in the field by someone other than the manufacturer. At least anything other than simple stuff.

I would be interested in having someone come to my airport to check my install and fix any issues. Then spend a few hours making sure I know how everything works.

That would Definetly be a service that would be offered we are even consider building panels, I guess this post is to get a feel for the services that would be of interest

Thanks guys , we will be setup soon, we promise to offer quality , very reasonable and great support to community will keep you all posted as we go forward again thanks very much for the positive commentsy

Joe
There is definitely a need.
While a person can always send the box back to the factory for repair.
Many times the problem is not inside the box but outside the box.
My experience has been that some shops just don't want to touch something "experimental".
I guess they think they will get some kind of disease.
Good luck in your venture.
Guido

I would love it if there was a somewhat nearby avionics shop that would do a good job working with experimental aircraft.