What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Cowl - Spinner Alignment

lr172

Well Known Member
I just hung the O-320 on the RV-6A yesterday and am now fitting the cowl. I am wondering if folks make a perfect alignment between the cowl and the spinner at this point or do they leave the spinner up a bit to allow for the engine mounts to compress and drop the front of the engine a bit. I used Lord Mounts from Vans. I have no experience to determine whether or not the mounts will compress over time.

I appreciate any guidance that can be provided here.

Thanks,

Larry

I set my spinner higher by 3/16 of an inch. After flying for 5 years, it's just barely below "level" with the cowl...maybe 1/8 inch. I think it's smart to set the spinner higher...but by how much is the question.

BTW, I used the standard mounts that came with the FWF kit.

worried

I set mine 3/16 high and now I'm kinda worried because I'm reading that some didn't sag much. May be better to set it perfect and shim the engine up if it sags. But, almost all the RV's I saw at Airventure was sagging some.

I believe it depends on engine/prop/acro combo. I built my cowling 1/8 inch high to my spinner, after 65+hours it seems to have dropped 1/8 inch with The Lord mounts/o-360/Catto prop/acro.

I lined mine up exactly, and after 22 months/310 hours, it doesn't appear to have moved *at all*. Lots of acro/rat racing, with up to +4.5G on a regular basis.

I think one difference might be that the engine hung on the mount for almost two years before I fit the cowl. I wonder if any sag that would have happened took place over that time.

I think one difference might be that the engine hung on the mount for almost two years before I fit the cowl. I wonder if any sag that would have happened took place over that time.