What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Garmin A/P operation

Bavafa

Well Known Member
I am rather new with Garmin G3X gear and looking for tips and tricks. My old TT in conjunction with GRT HX was very simple to operate.

Do I understand the Garmin A/P operation correctly that for the Pitch, if it is configured as simplified, it will change pitch as soon as the altitude bug is changed (climb or descend) and if this is the correct understanding.

Currently, mine configured as normal and my method for climbing/descending to the pre-selected altitude is to change the bug to the desired altitude, press VS or IAS and with the big rotary knob select the desire IAS or rate.

Just curious how most people set this at? This is more in the context of IFR flying rather than VFR.

AP

Mehrdad,

It is nice to be able to pre-select the next altitude while flying IFR. There are a couple of places on an approach where it can help you stay ahead.

1) Once you are on altitude for IAF you can go ahead and select the next altitude while waiting to get to the fix. Then I just hit the VS button and give 5-8 down clicks on the wheel once I pass the fix.

2) Once I'm established on the glideslope I go ahead and dial up the Missed Approach altitude. That way if you go missed you can just add power, hit the TO/GA button, and the system will do the rest (and you don't have to get distracted setting the altitude during the go-around process).

Andy

Ditto to Andy