VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics


Go Back   VAF Forums > Avionics / Interiors / Fiberglass > GPS
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #201  
Old 08-13-2019, 12:29 PM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 2,533
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by KAdriver View Post
Steve I am going with a single G5 and a GNX375 driving a trutrak AP. Only GPS source no nav radios or ILS. Will the G5 display course and Glide path (pink diamonds) by RS232 or will I have to add arinc box?
Thanks
Hello Jason,

You will need to install a GAD 29. See page 7-17 of the Rev. 5 G5 Installation manual.

Note that your GNX 375 will also get pressure altitude from the G5 via the GAD 29, so you don't have to worry about any other connections for it to have everything it needs for ADS-B In/Out.

This diagram has some extra stuff, but we mainly want to point out that if you add the new GAD 13 with OAT probe and GMU 11 magnetometer, not only will the G5 display OAT, TAS, Winds, and Density Altitude, but the G5/GAD 29 will share this data with the GNX 375 allowing it to also display winds and other information.



Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.

Last edited by g3xpert : 08-13-2019 at 12:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #202  
Old 08-28-2019, 01:14 PM
NewbRVator NewbRVator is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: CA
Posts: 138
Default

Any idea when/if Garmin will release a Nav/Com/ ADSB box.

I just added a GNX375 and love it. I have access to another plane in need of upgrade and there’s minimal panel real estate and it needs com as well. Anyways thanks Garmin the GNX375 is awesome
__________________
19 dues paid member since 2018
RV6A
Reply With Quote
  #203  
Old 08-28-2019, 08:00 PM
ALagonia ALagonia is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 276
Default

Any update on when Garmin will offer a video tutorial for the GPS 175?
Reply With Quote
  #204  
Old 09-04-2019, 11:47 AM
rocketbob's Avatar
rocketbob rocketbob is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 8I3
Posts: 3,355
Default interconnect question

I'm a little confused on the G5/175 interconnects.

First off here's the install manual:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1FJ...WLKRd2-fqEVAvm

Not sure why the manual has to be obtained from the dealer and is not posted on Garmin's site, but am posting it here so anyone can follow along.

On page 11-16 it shows a G5 ADI solely connected via RS-232.

On page 11-17 it shows a G5 HSI connected via the GAD-29B ARINC-429 pins and RS-232.

I'm wondering if its necessary to connect the 175 via RS-232 as I was planning on using the RS-232 on the ADI G5 for encoder output to a Stratus ESG and the RS-232 on the HSI G5 to connect to the Val Nav 2000 which is SL-30 compatible.

Just to be clear what is the purpose of the RS-232 connection if the 175 is connected to the GAD-29B via ARINC-429?
__________________
Bob Japundza CFI A&PIA
N55BC RV-6 borrowed, flying
N678X F1 Rocket, under const.
N244BJ RV-6 "victim of SNF tornado" 1200+ hrs, rebuilding
N8155F C150 flying
N7925P PA-24-250 Comanche, restoring
Not a thing I own is stock.
Reply With Quote
  #205  
Old 09-04-2019, 01:01 PM
Pdtofly Pdtofly is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 267
Default ARINC 429

Bob,

From what I know about the connection of a IFR GPS receiver to a EFIS system, you need to use the ARINC 429 box when you need autopilot steering commands.

ARINC Label 121 is the Horizontal Command (to Autopilot), needed for autopilot steering. If you don't have a autopilot, just need serial data for say, altitude encoder function, VOR/LOC/GS, you can just hook up the RS232.

Also, the SL30 just needs a RS232 connection as the RS232 is where signal for the left/right/up/down needle movement comes from.

I hope that answers you question.

Brian

Last edited by Pdtofly : 09-04-2019 at 01:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #206  
Old 09-04-2019, 01:19 PM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 2,533
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by rocketbob View Post
I'm a little confused on the G5/175 interconnects.

On page 11-16 it shows a G5 ADI solely connected via RS-232.

On page 11-17 it shows a G5 HSI connected via the GAD-29B ARINC-429 pins and RS-232.

I'm wondering if its necessary to connect the 175 via RS-232 as I was planning on using the RS-232 on the ADI G5 for encoder output to a Stratus ESG and the RS-232 on the HSI G5 to connect to the Val Nav 2000 which is SL-30 compatible.

Just to be clear what is the purpose of the RS-232 connection if the 175 is connected to the GAD-29B via ARINC-429?
Hello Bob,

You should be able to do something close to what you are describing.

Please contact us by email and we will provide some details and a wiring example.

Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #207  
Old 09-05-2019, 08:05 AM
SAF_Zoom SAF_Zoom is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Montreal, Qc, Canada
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulYardy View Post
there is no requirement for ADS-B in Canada and probably won't be for a decade

:-)
Not quite...

In a Jan. 11 webinar, Nav Canada announced its proposed 1090 MHz extended squitter (1090ES) ADS-B Out performance requirements. Phase 1, which would be implemented Jan. 1, 2021, would include all airspace over 18,000 feet. Phase 2, beginning Jan. 1, 2022, would add Class B airspace which, in Canada, extends from 12,500 feet msl up to but not including 18,000 feet msl. Phase 3 is less defined, expanding ADS-B as needed to “specific controlled airspace, en route or at an airport, starting no sooner than 2023.”

https://www.aopa.org/news-and-media/...-ads-b-mandate
__________________
Eric Deslauriers
Cozy MKIII - C-GEDZ
PA-28 140 - C-FYOF
Montreal, QC, Canada
Reply With Quote
  #208  
Old 09-05-2019, 09:22 AM
Denok Denok is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Quebec City, Qc.
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NewbRVator View Post
Any idea when/if Garmin will release a Nav/Com/ ADSB box.

I just added a GNX375 and love it. I have access to another plane in need of upgrade and there’s minimal panel real estate and it needs com as well. Anyways thanks Garmin the GNX375 is awesome
I'd really like to find out too. That would solve a lot for me.
__________________
Denis Guérette
Flying RV-7, C-GUED
Québec City, Qc, Canada
Reply With Quote
  #209  
Old 09-07-2019, 10:11 AM
Debovsky's Avatar
Debovsky Debovsky is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Val-d'Or (Quebec), CANADA
Posts: 57
Default Where to find GNX 375 Installation manual ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by g3xpert View Post
Hello Noel,

Yes, according to the 2 installation manuals, both of these 2" navigators (the GPS 155 and the GPS 175) use roughly the same vertical rack space.

Thanks,
Steve

Hi Steve, I went on Garmin's website but can't find the installation manual for the GNX 375? Can you tell where to find them?
__________________
Marc R. Beauvais
S/N #140070
50% airframe done
C-FOOT (reserved)
2018 due paid
http://www.mykitlog.com/Debovsky/

" Resistance, is futile "
Reply With Quote
  #210  
Old 09-07-2019, 10:39 AM
maximo64 maximo64 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: buenos aires
Posts: 8
Default

Steve:

Im planning to make a new panel for my RV-6A, based almost entirely on Garmin G3X architecture. I already have 2 x G5s , a GMU11 magnetometer, and plan to install 2XGSA28 servos, 1x GMC507 control, 1X G3X display and adhars, and in the future some Garmin Compatible Radio (GTR200) and IFR Nav (GSP175).

In case of an electrical failure, I plan to use my G5 connected to other air source pitot and static, (back up battery) for an emergency flight instrument.

My question is related to a possible catastrophic failure of the CAN Bus (suppose a short or ground on one of the Can signals). In this case, Is the G5 still going to work? or the CAN bus short circuit will damage my G5 and could not be using it as a backup flight instrument ?

Moreover, is there any recommendation on the CAN Bus order of "bus hanging" for my G5 ? (for example should it be the last on the chain near the termination resistor ?).

Thanks !
Regards,
Maximo Lema.
RV-6A
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:46 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.