What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV-10 Purchase

canadianjoe

I'm New Here
Hi Everyone,
I know it's probably not the best time to be asking these questions but with a lot of time at home lately I've had some time to think more about buying and building an RV-10. I've seen a bunch of builders on youtube and actually one in person about a month ago who is doing an RV build (not a 10 but I don't remember exactly which one) currently. I've wanted to go back to the hanger and talk to him but it was a group project which I am assuming isn't currently happening due to the situation.

I have a few questions for my fellow Canadian builders out there.
1 - how did you get your RV here? I mean clearing customs, shipping anything that might point me in the right direction. I'm near Detroit so I have some experience clearing customs myself but commercially and privately but in the current situation I wouldn't be able to cross myself to get it so it would have to be shipped here or be patient and wait for everything to calm down a bit. (I know this isn't essential to do now but with all this time on my hands I'd love to get started sooner rather then later)
2 - Tools, did you get them locally or from one of the recommended places in the US?
3- Costs, I know this is a bad question to ask but I'm putting it out there hoping someone can help me out. I keep getting numbers from stuff in the US but is it possible to purchase some of this stuff locally? I'm not talking the initial kit or power plant / prop. More the avionics, and the rest of the final stuff.
4 - I'm trying to understand the process of building, I understand the kit and power plant part of it, but the avionics and final panel and seats and all that stuff. What comes from Vans and what are the items I'll have to try to find?