VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 01-03-2018, 10:37 AM
rvman008 rvman008 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: KMGY
Posts: 53
Default Electric and Manual trim

Does anyone have both electric and manual trim? I would prefer to have both in my aircraft. I once accidentally kicked my trim hat on my stick while getting out of my aircraft. I later flew the aircraft and found out the trim didn't work. I had to fly back to my home airport around 80 KIAS to minimize stick forces. Anyone have an ideas on installing Manual and Electric Trim?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-03-2018, 10:59 AM
6 Gun 6 Gun is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 797
Default trim

Take the wires off switch and take a 9v battery and set trim were you want it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-03-2018, 11:45 AM
Sam Buchanan's Avatar
Sam Buchanan Sam Buchanan is online now
hall monitor
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 3,662
Default

Just run manual and be done with it!

This one probably needs to go in the "Never Ending Debates" forum...
__________________
Sam Buchanan
1999 RV-6
1918 Fokker D.VII replica
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-03-2018, 12:29 PM
pvalovich pvalovich is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ridgecrest, CA
Posts: 386
Default Trim

After experiencing manual trim in a Cessna 172 and a friend's RV, I don't see why any reason for it. Electrical trim is much easier, and except for nose up trim in the landing configuration, not an override problem at any normal setting.

I did include both roll and pitch trim cutoff switches during the build, but now wish I hadn't.

FWIW - I also think the operational advantages of electric flaps far outweigh any reliability concerns leading to a manual flaps decision.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-03-2018, 12:59 PM
Ed_Wischmeyer's Avatar
Ed_Wischmeyer Ed_Wischmeyer is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 613
Default

No, canít do both with standard RV trim.
__________________
RV-8 (steam gauges), RV-9A at KSAV (Savannah, GA; dual screen G3X with autopilot, GTN 650)
Previously RV-4, RV-8A, AirCam, Cessna 175
ATP CFII PhD, so I have no excuses when I screw up
2018 dues paid
Retired - "They used to pay me to be good, now I'm good for nothing."
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-04-2018, 08:00 AM
JohnInReno's Avatar
JohnInReno JohnInReno is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Prescott Valley/Chandler AZ
Posts: 273
Default An idea

If you are looking for ideas, how about the ability to manually move the trim servo? I recall that the servo in the elevator is a pretty tight fit but you might be able to get about 1/2 inch of travel.
__________________
John Morgensen
RV-9A N946PM 500+ hours since 2013
Nevada/Arizona
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:43 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.