What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

G3X Touch Autopilot Autotrim .. Hunting

bkervaski

Hellloooooooo!
Testing
I've followed the Garmin G3X Touch Autopilot tuning guide. The AP works great and doesn't seem to work to hard to do its thing.

As a last step have enabled the autotrim.

Occasionally, the elevator autotrim hunts the elevator trim trying to capture an altitude, especially on initial activation of the AP. This results in the aircraft over and undershooting the altitude for a bit.

Seems like a gain thing but the AP is actually working quite well.

If I put the plane at the altitude prior to enabling the AP it doesn't hunt and can keep it there.

Is this normal? I'm new to an AP with automatic trim, no frame of reference.

Thanks for any advice!

I just fixed an RV14 with a similar complaint, turned out the elevator was so stiff that the AP was having trouble overcoming the friction and kept over and undershooting. If your elevator doesn't "free float" than that may be causing your issue.

Should be rock solid.

I think one would notice this quickly in flight but I would double check that your trim control signals are not reversed.

Also check the airspeed threshold and speed percentages. I think mine are still on the defaults which seem to work well with my airplane. Yours may be too fast.

Last edited:
I just fixed an RV14 with a similar complaint, turned out the elevator was so stiff that the AP was having trouble overcoming the friction and kept over and undershooting. If your elevator doesn't "free float" than that may be causing your issue.

Elevator is very smooth and free. I would love to know what final numbers for the servos you had on this for comparison if it's not too much trouble.

I think one would notice this quickly in flight but I would double check that your trim control signals are not reversed.