What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Questions about an RV-4 Build

I want to build an RV-4 and I was wondering what kind of skills were required over the prepunched kit? I'm also wondering how many hours builders typically spend building an RV-4. I am especially interested in hearing from someone who has recently built one (prepunched wing skins). I am young but I am a fourth generation farmer. We do all of our own mechanic work, but I am concerned due to this being a plane. Also, are the plans that much more sparse than others? I have heard that they are.

-4 build

The -4 is likely the most difficult RV to build (-3 similar), as there is alot of jigging, and layout that must be done, so a thorough knowlege of understanding plans/blueprints will certainly help. Mine had no pre-punch at all, however I am in the business of aircraft maintenance. I recomend you try and find a local area builder thats got a -3,-4 or -6 that is still under construction if you are serious. It takes a bit of motivation to do any RV, and skills must be attained along the road to completion..not just the metal work, but the wiring, engine systems ect. Look at some builder sites with pictures you can find on this site, or VANs factory site under builders links. Also,there is a great 10 minute Youtube video a -4 builder from Germany put together with pictures from the entire build, start to finish. Good luck !

Thoughts on Building an RV-4