VAF Forums

VAF Forums (http://www.vansairforce.com/community/index.php)
-   RV-12 (http://www.vansairforce.com/community/forumdisplay.php?f=73)
-   -   unable to see weather (http://www.vansairforce.com/community/showthread.php?t=152559)

dbhill916 08-20-2017 02:34 AM

unable to see weather
 
Hi all,

I'm having some trouble getting weather to display on my SkyView. (Translation: there is no weather at all.) I have the SV-ADSB-470 and can receive traffic data without problem. I have the new SV-GPS-2020 as well. I'm up to date on updates. I tried to enable MAIN MENU -> MAP -> MAP MENU -> WEATHER OPTIONS, but there are no WEATHER OPTIONS to be enabled.

Any suggestions of settings that I have overlooked?

Tony_T 08-20-2017 08:34 AM

Weather can be toggled on and off by a button. Is WEATHER enabled in the layers menu?
MAIN MENU>MAP>LAYERS>WEATHER

Driftdown 08-20-2017 12:56 PM

Did that fix it?

Christopher Murphy 08-20-2017 05:00 PM

Couldnt resist
 
Look out the window...although sometimes on a dark night I have trouble seeing the weather..I once went for a ride with a guy and as we taxied out past the windsock he tells me we cant go because awos wasnt reporting the wind..

Cm

dbhill916 08-21-2017 02:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tony_T (Post 1197707)
Weather can be toggled on and off by a button. Is WEATHER enabled in the layers menu?
MAIN MENU>MAP>LAYERS>WEATHER

WEATHER is not an option on that path. The only option is TERRAIN.

terrykohler 08-21-2017 03:36 AM

I have a GRT EX, but...
 
ADSB weather and Terrain can't be viewed at the same time. Also, I have a menu button on the box where I can select Radar - this needs to be on. Finally, while I can typically pick up traffic while on the ground, weather only comes up while airborne.
Terry, CFI
RV9A N323TP

Tony_T 08-21-2017 09:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dbhill916 (Post 1197862)
WEATHER is not an option on that path. The only option is TERRAIN.

WEATHER should be an option on the LAYERS menu as well as TERRAIN. WEATHER and TERRAIN can definitely be display together on the SV. The other options for IFR charts only appear if you have a subscription for charts, but WEATHER should an option if the ADSB 470 is working properly.

On the map, ADSB status will show NEXRAD wx status in the bottom left corner and ADSB traffic in the right bottom corner. The transponder can show TIS traffic and TIS would show in the bottom right corner if ADSB is not working. The traffic you see could be just TIS and not ADSB.
This screenshot shows how the ADSB wx and traffic should appear on the map.


I'm out of other ideas except suggest that you pose the question on the Dynon forum. That forum is monitored by Dynon techs and they usually respond quickly to resolve these kind of problems. http://dynonavionics.com/cgi-bin/yab...xt_gen_general

terrykohler 08-21-2017 12:31 PM

From the Dynon Manual
 
"First, the WEATHER button within the MAP LAYER group must be enabled. Once the weather layer is turned on, the two types of data controlled in the MAP CONTENTS group will be presented on top of any other active map layer. If the TOPOG (topography) map layer is enabled, itís terrain color coding will be muted while the WEATHER layer is enabled to allow the NEXRAD weather / TFR graphics to stand out. Weather information is partially transparent to allow chart information to remain visible. Other databases (aviation, obstacles, base map, etc.) are always displayed."

If the terrain/topography is running along with weather, the colors would likely overlap and make it useless or difficult to decipher at best. Dynon has pictures of this in their manual (5-73, IIRC). It appears that once weather is selected, the terrain/topo washes out automatically. Same result as with GRT, but a little different approach.

Terry, CFI
RV9A N323TP

Tony_T 08-21-2017 01:13 PM

Terry,
I don't doubt the manual pages that you quote, although I can't find them in either the User Guide or Installation Guide. I'm sure some compromises are done when both terrain and weather are shown, but I wouldn't say that the terrain washes out when weather is enabled.
Here is one screen shot with both terrain and weather enabled.
The colors are vivid:

RV8iator 08-21-2017 01:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tony_T (Post 1197986)
Terry,
I don't doubt the manual pages that you quote, although I can't find them in either the User Guide or Installation Guide. I'm sure some compromises are done when both terrain and weather are shown, but I wouldn't say that the terrain washes out when weather is enabled.
Here is one screen shot with both terrain and weather enabled.
The colors are vivid:

Now that is one busy screen!


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:00 PM.