What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Fiberglass Help

RobB52

I am starting the fiberglass fairing fitting on the empennage kit. A few basic questions that I need help with. 1) what type of "glass fabric" do I need to buy? 2) what type of "epoxy resin" (if there is more than one) do I need? 3) what is a "flox mixture" and how do i make it? 4) what is "peel ply?" All these terms are used on page 12-04 of the plans and I am new to fiberglass. I have read section 5 but still have questions.

Is there a kit somewhere I can buy with all the required "ingredients?" Nothing jumped out at me at Aircraft Spruce.

Thanks

You can buy West Systems resin and hardener (fast and/or slow) for the epoxy. You will also want to buy a pump set for mixing the correct quantities.

Flox is sold as Flocked Cotton Fibers, I believe.

You will want some Micro Balloons or Micro Bubbles or Cabosil for non-structural filler.

They sell fiberglass fabric "tape" in rolls that you can buy different widths of.

I doubt there is a kit that would include everything you need, but they likely have resin kits.

I am starting the fiberglass fairing fitting on the empennage kit. A few basic questions that I need help with. 1) what type of "glass fabric" do I need to buy? 2) what type of "epoxy resin" (if there is more than one) do I need? 3) what is a "flox mixture" and how do i make it? 4) what is "peel ply?" All these terms are used on page 12-04 of the plans and I am new to fiberglass. I have read section 5 but still have questions.

Is there a kit somewhere I can buy with all the required "ingredients?" Nothing jumped out at me at Aircraft Spruce.

Thanks

Wait for Dan to chime in. West System is good. BID (bi-directional) cloth is good. Read his posts and pictures on this in the archives. Did a nice writeup on exactly your project.