What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Compass Magnetic Anomaly

blderubba

I'm New Here
Hello RVers,
This is my first time on this forum. I built my standard build kit RV7A in 5 years. It has been flying since 2009 with over 480 hrs. O-360 Superior engine with fixed pitch Sensenich. The plane is fantastic. I just recently rebuilt the panel with G3X 10" & 7" screens, GTX45R, GTN650, etc. I have one issue that the Garmin X team cannot resolve. During my climb out I get a message that says magnetic compass anomaly and that I should check the installation. I installed the GMU22 using the Garmin mounting bracket on the aft deck per their instructions. I have calibrated the magnetometer 4 times now in three different compass rose locations. The interference test shows that the rudder movement is most likely the culprit. If I move the rudder left at a quick pace, the result is 92% of limit. If I move the rudder left at a slow pace, the result is 31% of limit. I thought of degaussing the rudder cables,eyelet, and etc. but I am not sure that is the problem since a compass needle really does not deflect much at all near them.

I read forums involving the RV10 from a few years ago but nothing about any problems with the GMU22 and the RV7A series.

Has anyone installed a GMU22 on the aft deck of a 7A and had either similar issues or non at all?

Thank you for reading. Safe & Happy flying!
Brad

That is true

Funny you should mention that Raymo as often when i Google some question i have it will show me a VAF thread which did not show up on my VAF search.

Thanks for confirming this happens and that I am not totally computer illiterate.

Compass nomaly

Hi Mike,

I apologize for the delayed reply. I have been traveling. The error message usually pops up about 200 to 400 AGL on climb out and on my base to final around 500 to 800 AGL. I am looking for a degaussing tool to purchase and give that a try.