What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Elevator trailing edge-proseal as opposed to tape

Tmartin66

OK Gang, I am about to assemble the elevators and plan to use proseal as opposed to the double sided tape. My plans only describe the tape method. Currently my plan is to proseal the trailing edge at the same time I proseal the foam ribs and cleco the trailing edge together. Then let it cure for a few days before I rivet. So is this how others have done it or is there a better way. I'm a newbie so any advice is appreciated.

That works. For the RV-10 I did similar but I clamped the trailing edge between two pieces of 2"x2" steel angle iron to make sure the trailing edge was straight. Double flush rivets came after cure. This might be more important for the flaps and such, but I did it anyway for the tail.

Carl

I tried all methods, Elevator and rudder double sided tape, flaps proseal and ailerons nothing at all just very carefully squeezed up the rivets all worked out fine.
I think the trick is make sure you prep everything as perfect as possible. ie good dimples, correct depth countersinks and straight /flat work table.

I tried the tape on one edge and did not like the results so I went back the RV-10 method of using Proseal.

I tried both. Prefer the Proseal method. Gives time to work and stick well. Remember to scuff/clean both sides before applying the Proseal. Used a foam roller to apply, worked great.

Fred

On the rudder trailing edge I used a method described on "Carl and Rafael" RV-14A build site (a GREAT site by the way - http://www.rv14a.com ). They used JB Weld. This worked great, but I also clecoed to a piece of aluminum bar to keep the edge straight (worked very well). The challenge was separating the bar from the edge when I removed the clecos - JB Weld seeped out around the clecos and bonded to the bar.