VAF Forums

VAF Forums (http://www.vansairforce.com/community/index.php)
-   Alternative Engines (http://www.vansairforce.com/community/forumdisplay.php?f=22)
-   -   Electric Hybrid (http://www.vansairforce.com/community/showthread.php?t=158216)

Patrick14 02-28-2018 05:40 AM

Electric Hybrid

Good Morning!
Is anyone working on a hybrid propulsion System? For example Siemens Electric Motor downrated to 130kw, "small" 40 kWh battery and a Rotax, Limbach, Jaribu or similar to feed the battery

control 02-28-2018 06:19 AM

I did dream about that but soon realized that, that is something for someone who is building the 3rd or 4th aircraft.

As a first time builder I will stay very close to the plans and mainstream... :)

Gillegan 02-28-2018 09:01 AM

As I understand it (and someone correct me if I'm wrong) in hybrid autos, energy that is normally dissipated through braking, coasting down hills, etc. is converted to electrical energy for the batteries. Those opportunities generally wouldn't be available in an aircraft.

Now if someone could figure out how to convert the energy lost due to skin friction to electrical energy, we might be on to something.

control 02-28-2018 09:51 AM

I have a VW Passat GTE, the energy saved from braking is not noticable. And in an aircraft you would get the same effect if you use the prop as a brake when going down....

I toyed with the idea of having a Siemens engine with a max effect when using both the battery and petrol engine of 250hk+ at altitude I would use a Rotax/generator delivering 80-100hk(max 125).

The battery/electric engine should give 150hk+ for at least 15min from fully charged.

Many daydreams about this... maybe when my very soon to be delivered new Lycoming has had 2000+ hours :)

Patrick14 02-28-2018 09:58 AM