What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Older RV-10 QB kits - any changes

az_gila

Well Known Member
RV-10 guys,

I have a friend looking at a partly finished RV-10 kit for sale.

The kit is good and seems fairly priced but he asked a question about any QB kit changes over the years.

I have no knowledge on the 4 seater development and changes, so can anyone tell me if there have been any major changes over the last decade or so to the RV-10 QB kits?

Anything special to look for, other than construction quality?

Everything fiberglass (wing tips, cabin top, cowling) seems to have been improved.
Fuel valve placement: valve was lowered, extension to handle added, improved handle, better fuel line routing. All about March 2008

Also check the Van's web site to ensure that any S.B.'s have been incorporated, or be willing to do it yourself. I had to do one a kit that I bought 3 years ago.

Everything fiberglass (wing tips, cabin top, cowling) seems to have been improved.
Fuel valve placement: valve was lowered, extension to handle added, improved handle, better fuel line routing. All about March 2008

The builder (an A&P) who has it for sale mentioned he had modified the circuitous routing of those lines by adding a union...:)

The main improvements have been the Service Bulletin items that have been included in the original builds, the gell coated cowl and the RV-14 ailerons. The cabin top and doors have not been I proved.

The SB's that affect you would most likely just be the doubler on the top of the Vertical Stab and the doubler on the tailcone bulkhead where the Horizontal Stab front spar bolts.

The SB's that affect you would most likely just be the doubler on the top of the Vertical Stab and the doubler on the tailcone bulkhead where the Horizontal Stab front spar bolts.

And possibly the one adding the doubler to the engine mount if the purchase included a finish kit.