What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

MT governor operation?

13brv3

Well Known Member
Greetings,

I'm new to CS props, and am in the process of installing the governor, and control cable. Unfortunately, I can't figure out for sure which direction is which on the governor control, so hopefully, someone can educate me.

The control lever on the MT governor is spring loaded, so it returns to one direction when there's no cable attached. Here's my question- Is this spring pulling the lever to the max rpm (fine pitch), or min rpm (course pitch) position?

FWIW, my guess is that it's pulling to the max rpm (fine pitch) position, since that would be the safest position if the cable became detached.

Thanks,
Rusty (wiring & plumbing)

Correct.
If you use VAN's bracket, it will line up the control cable appropriately. As you hook it all up, you need to make sure it, the governor arm, hits the stop on the fine pitch side of the throw, but you don't need to have total throw to make the governor arm hit the stop, for coarse pitch travel, if it doesn't quite make it all the way.

Thanks for the confirmation. I did notice that the bracket aims a bit to one side of the gov shaft, and that does agree with my original assumption that the spring is moving the gov to it's fine pitch setting.

On the O-360 (at least the one I have), the mounting pad for the gov is at about a 45 degree angle, which means the bracket will either angle up or down at 45 degrees. I've got it installed at the downward angle, since the upward option put the bracket right in front of the oil line on the back of the engine. I had to reclock the head of the gov to make it line up with the bracket as well.

Should be good to go. Thanks again.
Rusty (one too many levers)