What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

fiberglass finishing

rwarre

Well Known Member
Attempting to get my fiberglass fairings, etc. ready for the paint shop. Have a few questions about how the finished fairing will look prior to paint. Since I have very little experience with fiberglass, how smooth the final finish should be is a question. I have studied many of the forums, pictures, etc., and am still not completely confident of my finished product. I will post pictures with my progress, but any suggestions would be welcome. Thanks

one big problem is getting all the pin holes filled, spray some primer on it to see them.

This subject has been discussed thoroughly on the forum. Do a search and you'll find some great advice and pictures from Dan, who is very good at composite work. Cory Bird, who built arguably the most beautiful composite plane ever, developed a great way to kill pinholes that has been tried and proved among the canard crowd many times over and Dan explains that also.

Last edited:
Here's another...

Great picture! The bottom of his wings are more optically perfect than most composite planes.

This is my friend Andy's Velocity. We started this when we were just "kids", ie. a lot younger. It just came out of the paint shop. All that's left is final assembly, plumb the engine and configure the GRT Avioincs/Garmin panel (shouldn't take more than 15-20 minutes) ;) .

It helps a lot if you have someone that knows how do the finishing process. Other than that its just a lot of work.

pic1757.jpg

Regards,

Carlos

Sherwin-Williams Spread and Spray

SW product #CM0480922. "Spread and Spray"