What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Some Engine Questions

Jamie

Well Known Member
Ok, so I admit that I'm a complete novice in terms of aircraft engines.

It seems as though my budget may prevent me from initially putting a C/S on the nose of my aircraft. I'm considering a Sensenich or Catto and then later upgrading to a C/S.

1) I understand that I can get a hollow-crank engine, plug it and put a FP on the nose, but are there any caveats to doing so?

2) If there is no caveat, then why aren't ALL aircraft engines setup for C/S and plugged?

3) For those that have done it, is the upgrade difficult?

Hollow crank

Depending on the original application intended for manufacturing the engine, it may require a hollow or solid crank. The factory makes that choice.
As to plugging your crank, it's a simple process of installing a "freeze" plug and simply plugging up the hole. You can get the plug from Lyc. ot any auto parts supplier. Have done many.
If you don't yet have the engine, and you find one with a solid crank, an electric C/S prop can be mounted.
T88

Lycoming Service Instruction 1435 details the procedure for converting between fixed pitch to constant speed and vice a versa.
Good Luck,
Mahlon
"The opinions and information provided in this and all of my posts are hopefully helpful to you. Please use the information provided responsibly and at you own risk."

In about a month, I should be taking delivery of my Mattituck IO-360 with the hollow crank (for CS prop) but set up to run a FP prop (Catto 3-blade).

I will happily be running the Catto FP prop, but I ordered the engine the way I did in order to have the option option later to change to CS if the "need" just hits me. Plus, at my age, this aircraft will probably be up for sale in a few short years so I figure having the engine configured to (easily) take a CS prop would be a great selling point.