What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Fuel Exhaustion (long but valuable)

tkatc

Well Known Member
Exhaustion/starvation is the leading cause of aircraft accidents/incidents. This is an audio clip of the actual controller trying to help me after I possibly made my last mistake. He did a great job along with a Spirit pilot trying to help as well. Everyone involved did a great job trying to make the best of a bad situation. I have a lot of people to thank and a lot to be thankful for.

This incident is a serious embarrassment and blow to my ego. It has taken me awhile to get over it but now that I have, I hope to educate other pilots so they do not find themselves in a similar situation. Before I begin, some background information is needed. I am a controller by profession and was recieving VFR advisories from the facility where I work as I was flying from one small airport to my home airport on an overcast November afternoon. (the day before Thanksgiving) The final leg of this day would be a short 20 minute flight.

That morning I did a normal pre-flight. I physically checked the tanks and they were both full. The fuel guages were not accurate and as such I did not use them. I based all my calculations off of the hobbs meter. I had been in the market to purchase my own airplane and in my search I ran across many advertisements that read "Cruises at 8 gph", many said similar things ranging from 6-9 gph. Occasionally I would come across an extremely thirsty plane that consumed 9.5 gph. I had trained in a C-152 that burned 5.5 gph and on this day I was flying a C-172 which I assume would never burn more than 10 gph. I figured that was a very safe estimate but obviosuly I figured wrong.