What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Why do pitots...

Andy_RR

Well Known Member
...face forwards and not backwards?

OK, to make this RV-related, I've spent too long yesterday reviewing what my pitot options are all so I can drill a hole (or not) in the ?$^%& wing skin! However, this question has bugged me for a while now.

If you look at the equation for dynamic pressure, p = 1/2.rho.v^2, if v is negative, you'll achieve a negative pressure (or vacuum) of equal magnitude which you can use for your signal, plus insect infestation and icing would likely be less of a problem

Does anyone know why it isn't done?

Andrew

I am not an aeronautical engineer, but my assumption would be because the air flow would be very turbulent with an aft-facing pitot resulting in erratic readings.

Oh man...you forced me to pull out my thermo dynamics book and now my head really hurts! Thanks :)

I think you could do it to some degree but it would not simply be the - of the dynamic pressure of the forward facing pitot.

Dynamic pressure is just a nice way of describing the stagnation process which are the thermodynamic properties of bringing a flow from some velocity to zero. in a pitot tube (facing fwd) the velocity just at the tip goes to zero since there is no flow through the pitot tube. The V^2 in the equation is the flow velocity far in front of the tube. To expect aft facing pitot tube to function equally the air inside the pitot tube would have to go from zero to ambient. This would suggest the process was reversible and since only isentropic processes (meaning no loses) are reversible and that no real isentropic processes exist it cant work 1 for 1.