What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

G3X Questions

the_other_dougreeves

Well Known Member
The economy and my personal circumstances have revived my interest in building full-time for a few months. As part of the planning, I've been looking at the advances in the EFIS market.

The G3X is an interesting product. I've been flying with a G696 for a few months and have been impressed with the user interface and the robustness of the unit, although it's not perfect. So, along with AFS, Dynon and GRT, Garmin is on the list for consideration. The integration seems to be a major plus.

So, I'm trying to figure out how the G3X works in detail. The documentation is good, but some questions remain:

* How does SL30 CDI data display on the HSI? Is there a softkey to turn it off and on?

* Is there any kind of integration / cross-checking between the SL30 data and GPS data, say, on an ILS?

* You configure the system as 1-screen or 2-screen by grounding certain pins on the displays. When you set it up as a 2-screen system, it looks like you loose the ability to display engine data across the top of the PFD or to display map data on the PFD - true?

* The GDU units are fairly thin. It looks like you could mount one for the back seater in a -8. All it really needs is power and a 2-wire CANBUS connection to the other GDUs. How would you configure the unit to act as a 1-screen PFD?

Thanks,
TODR

So, I'm trying to figure out how the G3X works in detail. The documentation is good, but some questions remain:

As with many things, the documentation lags a bit behind the capabilities... I can probably answer a few questions for you.

How does SL30 CDI data display on the HSI? Is there a softkey to turn it off and on?

Yes, there's a softkey on the PFD to cycle through the available navigation sources.

Is there any kind of integration / cross-checking between the SL30 data and GPS data, say, on an ILS?