What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Ellison setup/plumbing

rjcthree

Well Known Member
Those of you running an Ellison, can you please describe your plumbing/setup, with gascollator & filter details, and routing? Thanks.

Rick 90432

Rick,
The plumbing is the same as a carbuerator. I ran a choke type cable to run the mixture because it will curve around and easily make the 90 deg turn (side to side). The Throttle cable is straight forward push pull. I have been running one for 15 years with no problems but they are slightly different than a carb. Always keep in mind to keep your electric boost pump on durring hot starts and climb outs.
Ryan
RV4 131RB

TBI or not TBI...

Rick,

I installed an Ellison TBI on my Dad's RV-6 Hybrid 0-320A. In direct comparison with the carb it replaced I gained about 5-10% performance increase across the board. Setting the idle up took the longest amount of time, follow the instructions in the manual and it's no worries. I had to back it off three and a half turns from the in stop to get a smooth idle. It runs smoother at high end, easier to lean and it doesn't burp during vertical rolls:)
Plumbing setup as stated above, I didn't use a primer line, starts just fine with just the boost pump and engine rotation. Check your email, I sent you some tips sent to me from a few Ellison operators.

Smokey
HR2

I've had great success with two in the past on non-rv's and currently installing one on my -3. I have increased the depth of the van's FAB to try and get the minimum vertical dimension specified in the Ellison Manual.