What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Types of Primers

RudiGreyling

Well Known Member
Hi Everyone,

I'm a newbie and started the daunting task of doing research on primers, and I have to say I'm now even more confused then when I started. (etching, non etching, requires topcoat vs doesn't, epoxy based vs water based, primers vs sealers, conversion coatings etc...etc... you see what I mean :confused: )

I thought it would be nice if someone in the know could explain the different types of primers available for aircraft and a short discription on it's application method and use.

This could be a nice reference for future newbies.

Looks like there are a couple people in the know on this forum, judging from the some of the primer topics. [highflight, f1rocket, ptrotter or any other takers?]

Maybe there is a website reference already explaining this, please post it here then.

Thank you in advance.

Last edited:
Vern said:
The only thing I'd like to clarify is that ALL primers, no matter what their chemical make up, are intended to be used under a topcoat of some sort. That's what it means for a product to be called a "primer".
That goes for epoxy primers, of course, but the one significant difference is that epoxy primers have only a narrow "open" time during which the crosslink chemical process has not yet, well, linked (obviously, that's why there's a catalyst involved).

Until that happens, epoxy primer DOES retain it's porosity to encourage better paint adhesion, but there's even more to it than that.
In any paint product, you have two kinds of adhesion properties to deal with; chemical adhesion where the chemistry of the topcoat actually reacts and bonds chemically with the primer (that's the best kind), and then mechanical adhesion where the topcoat "grips" the properly cleaned and sanded primer.