What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Cutting open Oil Filters

Ironflight

VAF Moderator / Line Boy
Mentor
Despite that fact that I've owned airplanes for a few decades, I have never before been blessed with an engine that had a spin-on filter (always just had screens), so I have no experience with the things...

I'm wondering how many folks actually cut open their filters every time to look for bits and pieces of their engine. A friend gave me a filter cutter, and I opened up my first two filters this morning (I had saved them cause I was curious to cut them open), just to see how it went. A little messy, but didn't find any chunks.

Oh yeah - which way does the flow work on these thigns - from the outside of the paper in - or from the center out? I looked at both sides of the paper, and didn't find any particles....just curious!

Paul

Oil filters and analysis

The flow should be outside in. I think cutting them open and having a look is a great idea, but I would also recommend getting regular oil analysis. Now's the time to establish the baseline for potential future problems.

Some good info here: http://www.cancutter.com/

Last edited:
Every time

Paul,

I cut my oil filter open and inspect the element every time I do a filter change. There is no good reason not to imho.

As Allen mentioned, I check my screen every 200 hours or 6 months or so. I probably should check it more often, but that's my data point fwiw.

I did oil analysis often at first, but I've scaled back to doing it every 100-150 hours now.

For everybody's info, there is currently a great money-saving special on AOA Oil Analysis Kits. I believe it's only going for one more day:

AOA Oil Analysis
Mention the AOPA discount!

10 kits for $88 (savings of about $50!)
5 kits for $50

Stavely Svcs
3319 W. EARLL DRIVE
PHOENIX, ARIZONA 85017
Tel: 800.445.7930

)_( Dan
RV-7 N714D (708 hours)
http://www.rvproject.com