What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Dave Spears

Status
Not open for further replies.

DeltaRomeo

doug reeves: unfluencer
Staff member
dave.jpg

On August 31, 2001 my good friend, and the person who introduced me to RVs, perished in his RV-6 near Chicago while on a trip to visit relatives. His RV-6 (N910RS) was the very first RV I laid eyes on, was the first I rode in, and the fact that you are reading this now gives testament to the fire started in my soul by Dave.

For those of you who haven't heard the story, in 1996 I was a 30-hour student pilot topping off the tanks of a 1973 Cessna 150 which I was renting when Dave taxied up to the pump in his RV and began talking 'colorfully' (he had forgotten his gas card). Having never seen ANYTHING in the world like his plane I humbly offered $10 of avgas for a short ride. He told me three times it wouldn't be a $10 ride and that I'd end up building one. I politely smiled and assured him that I was quite happy with the C-150 (remember being a student pilot and knowing everything). After the flight (that also included my first loops and rolls) and while walking towards my car, Dave called out to me just like Mean Joe Green in that old Coke commercial and said, "Kid, don't build a noseroller....."

n910rs.jpg

It goes without saying that Dave and his airplane made a lasting impression in my life. We flew together a few more times over the years. The precise reason I'm building a tip-up RV-6 is because that's what Dave had. It really stuck.