What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Pneumatic Squeezer Problem

Hi all...I'm a new builder (or will be on Friday after Fedex delivers my RV-7 empennage kit) and have been tooling up my shop for the past couple of weeks. I just got a delivery today from The Yard in which I received one of their rebuilt pneumatic squeezers along with some other tools. However, when I connect the squeezer to my air line, it releases air from around the button trigger when it's engaged. I've never used one before and have never read about it doing this. I called the tool room at The Yard and he said that it was normal, but I'm still not convinced. So, I just wanted to confirm whether air normally leaks around the trigger or not. If this isn't normal, I'll just exchange it. I appreciate any input you guys have.

Chris

Mine does the same thing. I got mine from Avery. I think it works like this...someone can correct me if I'm wrong:

When you first squeeze the trigger, it allows air into the chamber, but it also bleeds air to the outside world. This is a clever mechanism to get both a teasing trigger to make the plunger controllable, and also allow the air to escape when you let go of the trigger (i.e. no more air coming in, but the bleeder wide open). When the trigger is fully depressed, there should be no more air leaking out. Maybe a faint hisssss if anything, but mine is whisper quiet.

Thanks...I just went back and checked it again and it's not acting the way you describe, but explains why the tool rep thought it was normal. Mine is releasing A LOT of air and increases the farther I plunge the trigger. Sounds like it's defective. So much for pressing any rivets this weekend. Oh well...

Chris

When I get home tonight, I'll make a little video of how my squeezer works. Then you can decide if yours seems reasonable.