What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Potentially stupid question...

ebrendan

I'm New Here
... Where is the Pitot tube on the RV-12? Is that it sticking out of the front of the spinner? If so, why is it there? Because the wings are removable?

Clearly I've never built an aircraft before. My father and I are considering starting an RV-12 kit.

How is the Pitot line routed from the spinner?

Hi all,

I do understand that the pitot tube on the -12 is in the middle of the spinner - Just how is the air line routed to the sensor or gauge? The spinner is spinning and so is the pitot? - how is this spinning state changed to a fixed state?

Thanks - Just wondering how they do it?
Jim

The pitot does not spin. The hole in the spinner in large enough, such that it does not touch the pitot tube. The propellor shaft is indeed hollow.

Hollow propeller shaft!

Hi Marty - Let's see if I understand this: The propeller shaft is hollow, so the fixed pitot tube runs through the propeller shaft to a sensor or tube fitting on the back of the gearbox? - ?
I have flown two aircraft with the Rotax 912uls (Sportstar & Dova Skylark), I was pleased with the power and ease of operation - I feel the Rotax will be a great little engine.

Thanks, Jim

Hi Marty - Let's see if I understand this: The propeller shaft is hollow, so the fixed pitot tube runs through the propeller shaft to a sensor or tube fitting on the back of the gearbox? - ?
I have flown two aircraft with the Rotax 912uls (Sportstar & Dova Skylark), I was pleased with the power and ease of operation - I feel the Rotax will be a great little engine.

Thanks, Jim

Hi Jim, I am not Marty but you got it right. Prop drive shaft is hollow all the way through the gearbox.

This is good for a number of other interesting setups:
1) Variable prop pitch control cable can enter here to mechanicly change prop pitch in flight.