What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

MD-RA inspections

tylerhan

I'm New Here
I am new to the building scene. Just have a few questions in regards to the inspection process and MD-RA. I am planning on building a RV9 and going to start with the empennage first. Can I build and cover the entire thing without it being inspected? Or do they want to see it before it is all riveted up? As well do I have to registed with MD-RA before I can begin or can I register before I have to have an inspection? I have been on the MD-RA website but it is not very informative at all.

Tyler

I am new to the building scene. Just have a few questions in regards to the inspection process and MD-RA. I am planning on building a RV9 and going to start with the empennage first. Can I build and cover the entire thing without it being inspected? Or do they want to see it before it is all riveted up? As well do I have to registed with MD-RA before I can begin or can I register before I have to have an inspection? I have been on the MD-RA website but it is not very informative at all.

Tyler

Hi Tyler, welcome. You didn't say what part of Canada you are from, but here's some recommendations based on my own experience building my 9A:

1) Join a local RAA or EAA chapter that supports homebuilding. The people there are always willing to offer advice or assistance.

2) Go ahead and register with the MD-RA. I agree that the website is poorly maintained, but do the best you can. Once you have a local inspector assigned, things will go smoothly.

3) It's ok to start construction of your tail kit while waiting for the bureaucracy to ramp up. Just don't close everything out. In my case, I closed the trim tab (no internal structure), left the trailing edge and some skin rivets of the rudder and elevators un-riveted and did not rivet the HS spar in place.