What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV vs Rans

airrap

I'm New Here
I've read the comparisons of the RV-12 and the S-19. How about comparing the ease of building for a first timer? Thanks.

Last edited by a moderator:
S-19 vs RV-12

I'm a first time RV-7 builder, helped build a Rans S-6ES 2 years ago and have watched an S-19 tail construction in various stages. Demo flight in the S-19 and sat in the RV-12. SO here's my 0.02$:

1. The RV-7 tail went together much easier than the Rans S-19. The S-19 tail is not prepunched. no one has seen a RV-12 tail kit. Rv-12 wins
2. Rans construction drawings are easy to follow. S-19 wins
3. Rans kits come very complete. S-19 wins
4. Both are roomy for a big guy. Tie
5. The S-19 is harder to enter. RV-12 wins
6. Vans appears to have a better testing.

Bottomline--->either should be a good plane. The Rans tail will test a first time builder.

Last edited:
Keep in mind you are limited by a gross weight of 1320. The empty weight of a Rans is 820 or 500 left for 144 full fuel(24 gal) and thus 356 for two adults and baggage. 100 lbs of baggage and you are limited to two small people...128lbs each...yikes!

The 12 on the other hand has an empty weight of 738 (certified SLSA weight).Fuel is 120 (20 gallons instead of 24) so you now have 100 pounds of baggage and two 181lb people.

86 pounds doesn't sound like much until you start to look at weights. Personally I like full fuel...I like to take clothes with me on trips...and I haven't weighed 128 lbs since I was in high school.

p.s. the rans does have a slider which is certaintly heavier as well.

i stand corrected...was assuming an RV12 built for sport pilot privledges. An AmBuilt could of course could be open to your imagination (and certification).

Keep in mind you are limited by a gross weight of 1320. QUOTE]