What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Almost there

dustman

Well Known Member
Hello its been almost a year and the plane is heading to the airport for final assembly. i purchased the plane built a new epenage and replaced the wings with the B wing mod. I have tried my best to be as accurate as possible on the rebuild, but im sure at least one of my angles or measurements are off a little. I hope the design of the aircraft leaves some room for the builders lack of expierence. Everything is pretty much done now have to get it to the airport put the wings on hook up a few fittings and have my AP look her over and we are there. Im a low time pilot I have about 160 hours 5 of which are TW time. I am flying a PA-15 working on the endorsment. I plan to do transition training in a RV4 before I fly mine. I'm pretty excited at this point as well as a little nervous. My hope is that I can convice someone to perform the test flight the reason being my relative low time flying period. The reason for the post is to just seek any last minute advice and recomendations and to thank everyone for the help that has been offered so far. Thanks

I bought a flying RV-3a and flew it after receiving my TG endorsement in 8 hours. I could not find a -4 to train in so I just went flying on a calm day. All went well, the -3 is very nimble and easy to control. Do alot of slow flight to know where the stall is. Use a tad bit of power when landing. Mine is a tad heavy on the tail so it touches down 1-2 seconds before the main, but that could be poor pilot techneque also. I'm learning.

You'll do fine, just keep it on the line.

Last edited:
Test Flight

I know that you're aprehensive about the first test flight and rightly so. I would recommend that you contact Kahuna to do that for you. He has done many for other people here.