What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

HS-307 note

13brv3

Well Known Member
Greetings,

Even as an experienced RV builder, I have to admit that I screwed up the HS-307's. I like to get my mistakes out of the way early :p

The only reason I mention this is because I still don't see anything in the plans that would stop anyone from making the same mistake. In fact, had I not built a few of these, I wouldn't have realized the mistake until much later.

The problem is drilling for rivets to attach the HS-307's to the rear spar. The plans and manual neglect to tell you not to drill for rivets in the area between the main ribs (center 5" of the rear spar). In this area, you will have 4 bolts drilled with the center bearing brackets, but the rest of the area between the brackets and the main ribs is left without holes to allow for mounting to the fuselage later. If you put rivets here, you'll find them in the way later, and worse than that, the holes may be in a bad location relative to where you need to drill for bolts during the fuselage assembly.

Cheers,
Rusty (can't wait to taper more spar strips...)

Me too.

I discovered this recently as well. I am hopeful that the holes will fall within edge distance requirements when I get to that point, or maybe get lucky. There is a lot of "meat" between the rivets as well on those spars so unless you get really unlucky, it should be workable.
Randy?

This is just one of a thousand things you'll encounter where having built an RV before and visualizing how things go together helps. At first you guys had me saying "huh?", then I remembered this area. Knowing in advance that this is the area where the HS mounts to the rear brackets I didn't drill any holes there. Still, even if you did drill #30 holes, there's a good chance they will be fine when you go to drill the AN3 attach holes. If not there are other ways to correct the situation.