What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Io-360 ???

Hambone

I'm New Here
I am new at this so please excuse the ignorance. From What I have been reading the RV-10 will accept a 210HP lycoming. From at the info I have read I have only seen the 540 being used. I was just wondering if a more ecinomical IO-360 would be sufficient in your opinion. Also if you have or know of anyone going with this set up I would appriciate the link,
Thanks Eric

Good question

From Van's aircraft:

Engines the RV-10 is designed to accept

The six cylinder (I)O-540 Lycoming. The prototype has the maximum acceptable 260 hp version. Other engines from 200-260 hp might be adapted, but current kits are designed around the six cylinder Lycoming.

So yes you are right you could put a smaller engine, even a 4 cylinder engine in, but current kit production is designed for the 6 cylinder Lycoming. I am sure Van's will offer different cowls and/or engine mounts in the future. My be the AEIO-360-X (210HP) Lyc would be a good choice?

http://www.lycoming.textron.com/mai...Releases/july02/mostPowerfulFourCylinder.html

Cheers George

Um...just to be clear here.

Van's has 2 prototypes flying.

#1 Has the Lyc 540
#2 Has the Continental IO-360 @210 h.p.

Both airplanes perfrom very close in top end, of course the 540 climbs better, but the Continental has it's benefits too. It's not Nose heavy like the 6 banher is, and doesn't have a chin scoop on the cowl like the Lyc does.

Seems it's a very nice flying plane with the 360 in it, though most people are in fact putting the 540 on it, I've run into a couple that are planning on the 360. Take a look on Van's site, RV10 #2 (the green/white one) is flying with the continental on it. There was an article in the RVator or either online about it's flight characterisitcs, but I don't have them in hand.

Cheers,
Stein.

Both are 6 cyl

SteinAir said:
Um...just to be clear here.