What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Pda Mapping Software

henriquerv9

hi all,

i need to buy a gps software to put in my pda and use as GPS backup. Any opinions what?s the best on the market? so far i have seen the mountainscope (mountainscope.com) seems to be the best But i would like to hear opinios before i buy because its a little expensive (US$ 495).

I really like anywhere map. Their software includes nice auto TFR updates and it is priced reasonably $300 for just the software or $429 for a yoke mount, bluetooth GPS and the software.

I have been using AnyWhere Map for about three years and am a satisfied customer. However, if I had the choice again I would probably buy a portable Aviation GPS (i.e. Garmin 296/396).

Tommy

GPS backup

If a backup of the primary GPS is desired, I would go with a stand-alone portable GPS instead of a PDA platform. I have a few years flying experience with AnyWhereMap, and while it is generally regarded as the most full-featured of the PDA systems, it is not the best solution for a backup GPS that you can quickly pull out of a bag, punch a button or two, and have a moving map up and running. There are just too many wires to hook up and too much fiddlin' required to fire it up, especially if your primary GPS has just gone belly up. If your PDA is Bluetooth-enabled, that will eliminate some of the wiring, but you are still dealing with a Windoze system that could test your patience at a time when patience may be in short supply. :eek:

I used AnywhereMap as the primary GPS with a reliable Lowrance Airmap 100 as the "backup" and autopilot driver. GPS duties in my plane are now handled by the very nice Airmap 1000, and my GPS backup is a.....GASP......sectional chart. If the mission profile of my plane was IFR ops, the GPS backup would not be PDA-based!