What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Any North Jersey Builders or RV's??

AndyRV7

Well Known Member
Hi,

I am a newbie VAF member and have been researching and contemplating an RV-7 build for months now. I cannot do any more planning though until I can meet some builders and hopefully take a flight with someone. So I am looking here for help. I saw the South Jersey thread and was amazed at how many positive responses it received, but I figured I try to post a little closer to home.

I am taking my Private Pilot training at Caldwell now and am about 1-2 weeks from solo I think (an exciting time!!). Since the RV is going to take near 3 years to build, I figure I really should make some hard decisions now and jump in.

So I would love to hear from anyone that might be interested in helping a newb.:) This seems like a great community, so I look forward to any replies.

Thanks!! Andy

PS. Incidentally, I train at CDW, but I live right down the road from Linden airport (if that matters to anyone).

Hi Andy,

I'm building a -7A in Langhorne PA. I'm about 1.5 hours away (with no traffic). You're welcome to stop by and see the project, and I'll be happy to help where I can.

Best,

Thanks Tom!!

I would love to see your build happening, but I am going to have to see if I can find someone a little closer for now anyway. But Can you tell me about your experiences so far?

Have you figured out any pearls of wisdom, or learned anything that you would do differently a second time around?

I guess I have all the same choices to figure out as everyone else. You know, like canopy style, 7 or 7A, Engine and all that comes with that choice, and I think the big one is going to be the instruments and avionics. Have you had to make these decisions yet? I guess some of them anyway.