What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Lunch on the Beach

Ironflight

VAF Moderator / Line Boy
Mentor
Many years ago, when I was in college, I was a diving instructor and charter master on the North Shore of Lake Superior. Although I have spent the past twenty five years in Texas, the cliffs and cold water of that region still hold a special place in my heart, and I thought that since Louise and I had a few spare hours in Minnesota the other day, we should pack "a little lunch" (you Minnesotans get that... :p ) and fly up to Duluth for a picnic on Park Point.

The day was gorgeous, and since the Valkyrie was tucked away in a hangar, we saddled up Louise's RV-6 for the trip. I have flown it before, but we had never used it to go someplace, and I must admit, it IS nice to have the special person in your life beside you rather than behind - at least when she's a pilot ( and owner of the aircraft!). Louise had wanted me to fly her plane to see how smooth it was since she had the prop balanced, and since she was feeling a tad under the weather, asked that I fly left seat. No one ever has to ask ME that question twice.... :rolleyes: It was interesting having to hand fly a cross-country again - no autopilot in her plane (yet)!