What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Dual GPS, single antenna?

N184DA

Well Known Member
Sponsor
I purchased a Garmin 496 for use in my RV4. I already have a panel mount, bendix-King KLS135A GPS/COM.
Question: Is it possible to "drive" two GPS's simultaneously, using a single antenna?? Can the GPS signals be split?

Thanks

Not with GPS antennas - I think

I'd seen this question posed before (and bear in mind I'm no expert). I believe I remember the answer being that the antenna generates such a low electrical signal to the reciever that if you were to split the signal, you'd decrease it to a point where it's unusable by either receiver. If this is true perhaps someone more knowledgeable might know of a signal amplifier that could be used to increase it so that it can be split.

Probably the more realistic answer is as follows.

King build their GPS RX to support a specific - db gain, preamplifer that is housed insite the antenna. Garmin uses a different gain specification with theirs. So a King antenna won't work (well) on a Garmin and vice-a-versa.

Also the bigger issue is the voltage that is required to power the pre-amp in the antenna comes from whatever is connected to it. There are 2 different voltages that are in use today 3v and 5v. An antenna that wants 3v could be damaged by one that drives with 5, and a 5V antenna, when driven with 3V usually doesn't work.

All of this could be done with a "black box" in the middle of the devices and the antenna as long as you are "like to like - garmin to garmin, king to king". However, I know of no-one who is making a *cheap* duplexor for GPS antennas...

Nice Idea, but probably not plausable given todays environment.

Well, I have bought a few parts at Radio Shack a while back and this very same setup did work great when connected to a bunch of different receivers:

http://www.prc68.com/I/4GPS.shtml