What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Whirlwind Propellers and what now?

Status
Not open for further replies.

patterson

Well Known Member
Patron
(previously posted in VAF Classified)

Response from a WW151 user to the recent grounding of many of our props...

Randy,

I've been silent on this because I wanted to see what the truth vs the rumor actually was before I spoke. I carefully read all the work that you did to check out the various props. Being a first time builder, I needed lots of "expert advice". I'm not upset with you necessarily, but with the events that followed your article

1.) Nobody actually had 100+ hours on this prop, so it turns out that most of our belief in it were due to speculation and trust in the company. We were true test pilots for almost a $9K investment.

2.) Jim did not inform any of us (in the Western States particularily) of his intention to sell his company, nor his intention to direct us to Greg at Titan for the numerous issues that have come up (cracked bulkheads, off center spinners, loose fuerrals (sic), the decline from 500 hours factory check in San Diego to now 100 hours (O-360) and 250 hours (O-320) and only in Ohio (that may have changed). To my mind, Jim owes those of us who bought his product from him, expecting easy access to support and repair as needed, the courtesy of all of the above at his shop in San Diego.

3.) I've had nothing but issues with my prop in the 170 hours flown. I've slowly worked (most of) them out, but this latest blow is almost too much.

I would like to suggest that we, as a group, should expect better treatment than to be offered to "buy" the repair to fix the latest issue for $2250.00