What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Does anyone have a FADEC engine?

Blastr42

This may belong on one of the engine threads, but does anyone have a FADEC controlled engine? I've read a little about some of the systems out there (like aerosance's kit) but the only production airplane that I know that has them "out of the box" is the DA 42 TwinStar. After learning to fly in a 172 I have sworn that I will minimize the amount of work I have to do as a pilot and have less knobs if I can, I think a FADEC engine could be the answer to my prayers (if I have the $$$)

PS, I don't want this to turn into a "real men fly airplanes with all the knobs, buttons, levers, steam gauges and other things you can imagine" debate. As an engineer, I find beauty in simplicity and replacing 3 knobs with 1 would be wonderful.

Any thoughts?

AeroSance FADEC

Hi,

Simple answer:
Yes there are RVs flying with AeroSance FADEC ignition / fuel metering, No it doesn't remove the pitch / RPM control - just the red mixture knob is gone.

Slightly longer:
Yes there are a number of RVs flying and more being built with the FADEC system, Mattituck have been invovled with AeroSance for a while and actively involved with the testing / trials. Ken Barto (6A), David Schaefer (6A), Mark Taylor (7) are some of the better known 'identities' with FADEC RVs and Aart / Rene (7), Myself (7A) and others are well into the final stages.

The primary challenge as far as my experience goes has been the firewall layout and planning, with the prop gov, dual batteries and two ECUs (the main firewall forward ignition 'blocks') everything gets pretty tight for space.