What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Batteries

RVadmirer

Well Known Member
What are the current battery recommendations? I'll need to replace a B&C 35 Amp battery that isn't holding it's charge. Thought I'd see if there is something better out there in the collective experience. Am waiting on a scale this afternoon to verify all the specs I'll need to match as close as possible.
Thank you.

I've been using an Odyssey PC625 on my IO-360-A3B6D for the last two years. I have never had a problem starting, even in the coldest weather (0F) and after letting it sit for 2 months between starts.

Cheers

Mark, is that the PC925? The larger one? I'm using a PC680 in my 7A with 0-360 A1A. It's way over 3.5 years and doing great.

Roberta

Hi Roberta,

Nope, it is the 625, and I am really happy with it. Here is a pic from the Odyssey website:

pc625_lg.jpg

I also use the Odyssey PC625. I replace it every two years, and have never had a problem starting. Even down as low as 18 dF after preheating.

After I pull them off the plane, I put them on riding lawnmowers, use them on the workbench, etc. and they really are still troublefree. The old original is still going.

I know, I know, probably replacing too many batteries. IIRC, Electric Bob recommended a two year replacement cycle for the Odyssey batteries. I know I have never had an electric problem and I guess it gives me some peace of mind.

Wes Hays
RV-6A Flying since 2000
Winters, TX

Battery Problem

Can a weak battery be the cause of Light Speed ignition problems? Mine missed at run up and at idle and we can't seem to find the culprit. I would have thought the alternator was doing the voltage supply at run up speeds but then electrics are in my black hole of knowledge base.... :confused:

Last edited: