What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Flap Positioning System from aircraft extras

tonyjohnson

Well Known Member
Has anyone installed the "FPS" from Aircraft Extras? This is a different system that the one offered by Vans.

The "FPS plus" automatically sets the trim to a preprogramed position for each flap setting. It is pretty cool, but I have having some trouble figuring out how it should be wired. I have the schematic from Aircraft Extras, and I am studying it.

Is anyone else using it? Did you have difficulty wiring it? Any gotchas I should be aware of?

Thanks,
Tony

bump

I am bumping this because I am now installing this system, or attempting to. The documentation is the most confusing that I think I have ever seen. If I can't get any clearer guidance on its installation I think I will take it out and go with a much simpler approach.

Does anyone have a schematic that covers the installation of the FPS plus with the trim indicator relay and the anti accidental flap deployment relay? The documentation does not show all those things in one installation.

Yeah, I know that it has taken me 5 years to get from my original post to the actual installation :eek:

thats it

Yep, thats it. It looks really cool but very complex. I
have spent hours trying to figure out the installation. Perhaps I am not the sharpest knife in the drawer, but for the life of me I cannot figure out the installation.

I have installed it in my RV and absolutely love it. I have it with the automatic trim and has been wired and operating as advertised.

I did not install the anti accidental flap as I did not want to have that limitation.