PDA

View Full Version : ICAO flight plan codes and ADS-B out


robimagu
12-12-2015, 10:05 AM
The FAA released new guidance on indicating ADS-B out capabilities on the ICAO flight plan.

http://www.faa.gov/about/office_org/headquarters_offices/ato/service_units/air_traffic_services/flight_plan_filing/

I will be retrieving my RV-6 in January after installation of a new panel. G3X touch with Garmin autopilot, GTX 23, GTN 625, GTR200.

Lots of research, but have figured the following...

Equipment: BGRVZ/LB1
Other: PBN/B2C2D2O2S1 NAV/SBAS SUR/260B CODE/AC6D2E


Would add A1 & L1 to PBN for oceanic/remote. Thoughts?

BobTurner
12-12-2015, 01:13 PM
thoughts?
I may never file a flight plan ever again if I have to remember all that stuff.

SmilingJack
12-12-2015, 02:40 PM
The FAA released new guidance on indicating ADS-B out capabilities on the ICAO flight plan.

http://www.faa.gov/about/office_org/headquarters_offices/ato/service_units/air_traffic_services/flight_plan_filing/

I will be retrieving my RV-6 in January after installation of a new panel. G3X touch with Garmin autopilot, GTX 23, GTN 625, GTR200.

Lots of research, but have figured the following...

Equipment: BGRVZ/LB1
Other: PBN/B2C2D2O2S1 NAV/SBAS SUR/260B CODE/AC6D2E


Would add A1 & L1 to PBN for oceanic/remote. Thoughts?

You could start by looking at this AC to see whether or not your equipment qualifies for the A1 :

http://www.faa.gov/documentLibrary/media/Advisory_Circular/AC_90-100A.pdf

As for the L1. : I would have to look deeper, but I believe you get into RNP 4 requirements and have to have CPDLC and ADS C.

And yes Bob, it seems they ran out of letters in our alphabet these days when it comes to filing a "what used to be" simple flight plan :eek:

Here is an example of the "work" airplane code which will make your head spin :D

SBDE3FGHIJ1J3J4J5M1RWXY

tomkk
12-12-2015, 02:56 PM
The LM FSS site has drop down menus where you just check off the equipment you have installed. Save it as a Favorite and use that as a starting place for new FPs.

Val
12-13-2015, 01:33 AM
Try this
https://contentzone.eurocontrol.int/FPL/default.aspx