What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Head Up Display

WannaBRV

Is there a current HUD System that is available for installation on say an -8? If not does anyone know the likelihood of being able to retrofit one from a fighter (found some on eBay) to maybe repeat information that is being displayed on an EFIS?

Thanks!

Sorry Did a search for HUD and nothing came up then after I posted, I did a search for Heads up Display and found some articles. If I could get some thoughts on the latter question then that would be appreicated.

Last edited:
Most of the HUD's I've seen for GA are pretty spendy. Not that I'm an expert. You could try to roll your own. I've always wondered how a LCD flat panel mounted in the glareshield facing upwards, with an angled piece of plexi over it would do as a HUD.

There are also PC security devices that are used to hide your monitor from prying eyes. It is an eyepiece you wear over one eye and it makes it appear as if the the image is projected in front of you. Some helicopters use a similar technology. Wonder how that would work?

In fact here's here's a webpage for wearable computer monitors.

Last edited:
For a long time there was a company advertising a HUD for experimental aircraft in Sport Aviation. It was a self contained unit with display and the glass to project onto all in one unit. I checked my latest issue but it doesn't look like they are advertising anymore.

It would be difficult at best to have a HUD displayed on the canopy surface. Automotive HUDs that display on the windshield require optically correct glass and it is very expensive to get right. With the seperate glass idea it is easier but then you have to have a pretty secure mounting for the glass and display to prevent the engine vibration from causing distortion.