What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Sliding Canopy anyone?

patterson

Well Known Member
Patron
Hello,

By way of introduction, I am an RV-4 builder in Northern California. Like those on this particular list, I believe the -4 to be Van's best design. That is all except for the tilt up canopy. To that end, my building partner and I have set about doing a new kit (#4446) with a slider. We're working on the canopy now. :cool:

In my opinion the RV-4 is WAY too hard to build in it's current configuration (a bunch of aluminum and some drawings that are often contradictory). :confused:
I too have inquired as to why Van's won't consider reverse engineering those incredibly confusing 25+ year old RV-4 plans to 'accomodate the market that would opt to purchase a QB-4 over the -8'? Answer is the -8 is a replacement for the -4 (and a better airplane overall for the mission) so there are few actual customers. In short, Van's doesn't feel there would be much real demand for a QB -4, and the cost to turn it into a QB is, as I understand it, prohibitive.

His plane, not mine, so even if I had ton's of $$$ to try turning out QB-4's.... not my plane to start with. The whole design just can't be re-done. :(

But what about just a new, sleek, -8 style design for a Sliding RV-4 Canopy??? :D I wonder if there is any real interest, or is it just me?

So here's my question to the -4 community. If there were good (canopy only) plans, or if you could order as an option, a complete slider canopy to slap on your RV-4, how many potential builders / buyers of this particular complete(d) kit might there be???

Anyway.....Howdy! Glad to be a part of the group!
Ron
N8ZD (reserved)
[email protected]

If it ain't broke...