What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Fuel Capacity Question

CraigH@KRPH

Well Known Member
Van's site lists the fuel capacity of the RV6A as 38 gallons. However, my fuel caps (which I believe to be standard Van's issue) list the capacity as 18 gallons. I'm no rocket scientist, but 18 + 18 does not equal 38. What gives?

Did you build your plane or buy it? I could be wrong, but I don't believe Vans sells fuel caps that are engraved with anything. My guess is that the previous owner (of the caps or the plane) had the caps engraved with the 18 gallon capacity.

Guy Prevost said:
Did you build your plane or buy it? I could be wrong, but I don't believe Vans sells fuel caps that are engraved with anything. My guess is that the previous owner (of the caps or the plane) had the caps engraved with the 18 gallon capacity.
Check out my signature. ;) I bought it flying. That would certainly explain things.

This could also be in reference to the "Usable" fuel in each tank.

One gallon (or more)of un-usable per tank is normal in most a/c.

Mike

Fuel capacity

Craig,
The "6" has a capacity of 19 gals. per tank. I have a plain old 6 and if I play with refueling, I can squeeze in 19.2 or 19.3.(pump meter ??) I always watch while their being filled if I can't do it myself and I always fill to the bottom gas cap neck. Shaking the wing slightly to get the air out. BUT, I base all my flying time on 18 gals per tank and always try to refuel at 5 gals (min.) per tank. I find that by doing this, the fuel lasts longer than my blatter.
Enjoy your RV, there just isn't anything better out there.
Rich

Thanks Rich,
Reason for asking is that I just had a JP fuel flow gauge installed, and wanted to know what to set the full level at. I'm pretty conservative, and have set the "low fuel warning" to come on at 10 gallons.

Suggestion for Craig

CraigH@KRPH said:
Thanks Rich,